No Bake, 3 Ingredient Peanut Butter Snowballs

This recipe started with a recent impulse buy at the grocery store.  Vanilla cream filled cookies were on sale and I figured my son might really enjoy them.  After it was determined that he so so about them, the cookies were then passed over by my husband, who doesn’t really go for sweets and then by me since I have gluten intolerance issues.  I have a really hard time pitching food, so I was determined to do something with the cookies.

img_37982

I have made cake balls in the past and this recipe is sort of a play off the cake ball concept.  However, unlike a cake ball recipe, this recipe does not require baking, has far less ingredients and the start to finish time is considerably shorter.  These peanut butter snowballs can literally be completed and plated in less then 10 minutes.  They are great as a last minute dessert or pot luck dish.

img_3799

There are similar recipes out there that use graham crackers or butter cookies in addition to butter to create a dough ball.  This recipe does not contain butter which makes it a great dairy free or vegan recipe.  Gluten free vanilla sandwich cookies can be used to create a gluten free peanut butter snowball.  And for peanut free snowballs, sunflower or almond butter can be used in place of the peanut butter.

I would recommend using a high quality vanilla cookie sandwich in this recipe, but really any brand will do.  The one I used is “Country Choice Organic Vanilla Sandwich Cookies*” and can be found here.  I would also recommend a natural, less processed peanut butter, which can typically be found at most grocery stores.  I prefer “Trader Joe’s Natural Peanut Butter*“, which can be found here.  Good, high quality natural peanut butters can be hard to locate since most of them have added sugars or oils.  I prefer natural peanut butters that contain just peanuts and salt.

img_3802

And lastly using an unrefined powdered sugar for this recipe is best, but can be hard to find.  The powdered sugar I prefer to use is “Wholesome Sweeteners
Organic Powdered Sugar*” and can be found here.  If you cannot locate unrefined powered sugar you can always make your own powered sugar.  To create your own powdered sugar simply add Sucanat or any natural sugar to a powerful blender or food processor. Pulse the sugar until it becomes a fine powder.  Traditional powdered sugar has the addition of corn starch or tapioca starch but that addition is not necessary in this recipe application.

No Bake, 3 Ingredient Peanut Butter Snowballs

16 vanilla sandwich cookies

1/2 cup peanut butter (prefer natural peanut butter)

1/4 cup powdered sugar (plus a couple extra tablespoons for final dusting)

Add sandwich cookies to a food processor.  Pulse the cookies until they become a coarse crumble.  Add powdered sugar and peanut butter to the crumble mix.  Pulse the mixture until it comes together into a dough type ball. Remove the mixture and using a tablespoon measuring spoon (I like to use a silicone one so that they pop out easily), scoop out dough and roll to create a bite sized dough ball.  Roll the balls in a light dusting of powdered sugar and set aside.  The balls can be immediately served or stored in a container.  This recipe makes about 20 snowballs.

*I am not a compensated endorser of these products.  I do, however, list the product name and link to the product(s) I use since some readers have asked for recommendations.  I provide this information in my recipes to help readers select types and brands of certain products.  I am an avid product label reader and critic.  I only purchase and list products in my blog that have quality ingredients listed on their label.  I hope my researched selections can assist my readers in the grocery stores and can hopefully cut down on the time they spend in the grocery store pining over labels.   

Leave a Reply

