No Corn Syrup Marshmallows

Rice krispie treats are a favorite snack in my household.  I would say probably once a month, at least, a batch of treats is usually made and devoured.  While I have always felt okay with most of the ingredients in the rice krispie treats (I use brown rice, coconut oil and marshmallow), I was always on the fence about the marshmallow part.  The ingredients in commercially made marshmallow are not exactly the best.  Traditionally they use large amounts of sugar and corn syrup.  I wanted to be able to feel better about the krispie treats I was making so I decided to make my own marshmallows.

I will be honest, before I made my own marshmallows I was actually quite scared.  Marshmallows seemed like a very technical item to make and I wasn’t sure I was seasoned enough to make them.  Before I attempted to make the marshmallows I spent time trying to locate healthier marshmallows in the grocery stores.  To my surprise it is hard to find healthier marshmallows.  The only alternative marshmallows I found were made with fish gelatin (tried that, treats smell and taste like fish) and vegan marshmallows (which I was okay but there was a lot of tapioca and starches).

After coming to many dead ends with trying to locate healthier marshmallows I dove head first into making my own.  I was very surprised when the marshmallows came out perfect!  I was amazed at how easy they were to make.  And once I tried them in my krispie treat recipe I was saddened that I had not tried to make these marshmallows sooner.  They created some of the best krispie treats I have ever had.

No Corn Syrup Marshmallows       

2 tablespoon gelatin 

1 cup cold water

2 cups sugar

2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Powered sugar

“Flour” an 8 inch square pan with powdered sugar.   In a small bowl, add 1/2 cup cold water and stir in gelatin.  Allow the gelatin to soak in the water for a couple of minutes.  

In a medium saucepan, combine the sugar and 1/2 cup water.  Cook over medium heat and stir until the sugar is fully dissolved. Stir in the gelatin mixture and bring to a boil.

Pour the gelatin mixture into a medium sized mixing bowl and allow to cool for about three minutes. Add in the pure vanilla extract.  With an electric or stand up mixer, beat the gelatin mixture for about 10-15 minutes.  You will want the mixture to double in volume.  

Pour the fluffed mixture into your “floured” square pan and set aside until cool.  Once cool cut into 1 to 2 inch squares and roll in powdered sugar.

  

Leave a Reply

