Chocolate Protein Cookie Balls

There are a couple recipes I make on a weekly basis.  I know them by heart and could probably make them blind folded.  This recipe for chocolate protein cookie balls is one of my favorites and I eat a handful of them daily. Since I exercise daily, I know the importance of protein in my diet.  By the end of any given day, I can physically tell if I did not have enough protein.

There are several ways to incorporate more protein into one’s diet.  One of the most popular ways is to drink a protein shake.  I am not a huge fan of protein shakes.  I had jaw surgery when I was young and had to be on a liquid diet for a couple weeks.  I think during that time I got burnt out on the whole shake thing and have never really been able to go back to it.  This cookie ball recipe is a cheap, easy and delicious way to add extra protein into your diet.  The ingredients are simple, the prep time is lighting fast and the finished cookies store well.  They are guaranteed to keep you full for a long time and satisfy those unyielding chocolate cravings.

The cookie is high in protein, gluten free and low calorie.  The protein in these cookies come from chick peas and protein powder.  Chick peas are incredibly healthy.  They are high in protein and fiber.  They also contain folate, copper, phosphorus, iron, and zinc.  The protein powder choice is up to you, however, I prefer to use a whey powder with very little additives.  My personal favorite is by Solgar and is called “Whey To Go”.  I did a lot of research before I selected a whey protein.  Solgar’s powders were the best I found in regards to ingredients, taste and cost.

Chocolate Protein Cookie Balls

1 can chickpeas (drained and rinsed)

3 tablespoons water (add more if needed)

1/3 cup protein powder

1 tablespoon cocoa powder

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

a dash of stevia (more if you prefer or use sugar instead)

3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In food processor or blender, puree chickpeas. Add water, vanilla, stevia and protein powder.  Blend until the batter forms a ball of dough. Empty the dough into a medium sized bowl and add the chocolate chips.  Stir to incorporate the chips.  Form into tablespoon sized balls and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake in preheated oven for about 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and cool on a wired rack.  Finished cookie store well in a pantry for a couple days, in the refrigerator for longer and in the freezer for months.  

Leave a Reply

